Story of Song The stories behind the hits Novellic
Lyric Music

Lovesick Girls


Album The Album

“Lovesick Girls” is the fifth track from South Korean girl band BLACKPINK and their debut album “The Album”, which was released on the 2nd October 2020 through YG and Interscope Records. “Lovesick Girls” was written by Teddy, 24, Løren, Jisoo, Jennie, Brian Lee, Leah Haywood, R. Tee, David Guetta & Danny Chung, with production done by Teddy, 24 & R. Tee.

“Lovesick Girls” is an EDM and dance-pop track that discusses post breakup pain and intense heartbreak, as well as questioning why they feel the need to still search for love despite feeling that they were “born to be alone”. The song was met with positive reviews from critics, with Tim Chan writing for the Rolling Stone stating that the song “turns a familiar lament about being alone into an anthemic dance track that’s just begging for a lightstick and clubs to reopen”, as well as Hannah Zwick of Consequence of Sound describing the song as the “album highlight, especially for the vocalists”.

The music video for “Lovesick Girls” was released via BLACKPINK’S YouTube channel on the 2nd October 2020. Directed by Seo Hyun-Seung. The video follows the members of the group around various scenes, from sitting in a pink Cadillac, dancing on the street at night, food fights, therapy sessions and more. The video did cause some controversy, with the Korean Health and Medical Workers Union raising concerns about group member Jennie in a nurse’s outfit, which the union stated was the sexual objectification of nurses. YG responded by saying that they had the “intention to replace the scene”. The video had surpassed 10 million views in only 52 minutes of it being uploaded to YouTube, with the video receiving a total of 61.4 million views in only 24 hours. The video currently has 269.4 million views and 10 million likes.

Release Date: 2nd October 2020

Songwriter/s: Teddy, 24, Løren, Jisoo, Jennie, Brian Lee, Leah Haywood, R. Tee, David Guetta & Danny Chung

Producer/s: Teddy, 24 & R. Tee

Label/s: YG & Interscope

Music Video Release Date: 2nd October 2020

Music Video Director: Seo Hyun-Seung

Chart Rankings: “Lovesick Girls” has charted at:

– #27 in Australia
– #29 in Canada
– #76 in the Czech Republic
– #130 in France
– #2 on the US Billboard Global 200
– #38 in Hungary
– #39 in Ireland
– #12 in Japan
– #1 in Malaysia
– #50 in Mexico
– #35 in New Zealand
– #23 in Portugal
– #37 in Scotland
– #1 in Singapore
– #78 in Slovakia
– #2 in South Korea
– #40 in the UK
– #59 on the US Billboard Hot 100
– #1 on the US Billboard Digital Song Sales chart
– #68 on the US Rolling Stone chart

Find the translated lyrics of “Lovesick Girls” here:


BLACKPINK Apple Music:

Added by Tala Woods

  • Share:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *